• C R A F T & D I Y •

Craft: Spray Paint Sessions

I love spending some time creating something beautiful, often I struggle to find time to be able to ‘make & do’, but recently I’ve been making an extra effort to make the time & it’s been so good for my head space. I highly recommend taking the time & letting your creativity shine, you’d be surprised what you can  actually create.

I never thought I’d be any good when it comes to ‘spray paint’. I just though it’d be to difficult & I’d make to much of a mess – now I’ll admit during this spray paint session I did get it all over my hands (so I highly recommend disposable gloves).

Over the last year or so I’ve been gathering stuff that I wanted to spray & finally I found some colours that I was happy with. So I got some news paper & opened all the windows in my sitting room & got stuck into spraying the different pieces. Each piece got 2/3 coats, it just depended on how much wear & tear it was going to take. On a few bits I had to tape them, spray & let dry, then remove the tape.

I used ‘Montana GOLD’ as it was the easiest to purchase & friends of mine had used the brand & recommended it, but there are a number of brands on the market, whatever your preference.

So the results: I’m very happy with the results. Some pieces I used one colour as a base coat & then lightly applied the other colour to give a ‘distressed’ look, as you can see below.


Things I’ve learn’t –

  • I’ d firstly spray outside. My house stank for almost two days, even with all the doors shut & windows wide open.
  • I’d used a plastic sheet instead of paper, little pieces stuck on to the paint as it dried.
  • I loved using the matte finish, while the chrome effect was much trickier to get even. I can tell it will take a good bit more practice.

I’m really happy with the finished pieces &  look forward to gathering a few other bits & spraying them. So have you any tips or tricks when it comes to spray paint? Is there any other tricks you use to decorate or ‘do up’ your stuff? Feel free to comment, I love hearing from you.

As always, Thanks for reading! Until next time!

RoaM -X-

Don’t forget you can always contact & follow me on:

Email   Instagram   Pinterest   Tumblr   Twitter

Leave a Reply

